Posted by: bohoknitterchic | October 29, 2010

Feature Friday- Pog and the Wisteria Paintbox

Welcome to Feature Friday, blog entries written by Spindes customers! Our first entry is from PogKnits, who knits and designs some of the cutest creatures ever and also happens to be a very talented spinner! Here is her experience with the Wisteria Paintbox:

The beauty of a Spindies Paint box is that you can spin it any way you wish. You could spin each sample separately. In the Spindies Ravelry Group there is an entrelac cowl SAL/KAL going on now that would showcase this method amazingly. You could spin a supercoil art yarn. You could blend all the samples together and get a yarn completely unique… I’ve chosen to spin a yarn in a sort of “melting pot” approach. This will give a yarn with considerably more variation than a semi-solid or tonal yarn, but will still work well with patterned knitting.

For those who have never unwrapped a Spindies box, here’s a description of each of my Wisteria samples. When I checked each website, I noticed that some of the artists still had full sized Wisteria offerings in their shops. You could always ask them to reproduce a sample, too, if you’ve totally fallen in love with something that is sold out.

Starting at the upper left of the photo and going clockwise…

BohoKnitterChic Spins

Wisteria – roving containing superwash merino, bamboo and nylon

This hand painted roving has shades of purple and pink from deep to pale, contrasted with white. If I had a full sized braid, I think it would make some fun socks!

Dragonmaille Designs

Wisteria – superwash Blue Faced Leicester wool, nylon, bamboo rayon.

Wonderful shades of pink, from intense to gentle are blended together in this supersoft batt. Who doesn’t love pink!

Fuzzy Bunny Fibers

Clematis – hand-dyed blue faced leicester roving

Shades of pink and purple in smooshy, bouncy BFL. I love the intense colors in this roving.

Hampton Artistic Yarns

Wisteria Blossom – kettle dyed organic merino

Oh, so soft merino roving in shades of purple and blue that I just can’t stop touching. I could see myself making a chunky singles yarn and knitting it into a cozy cowl if I had more of this.

Moonlight and Laughter

Wistful Wisteria – superwash bluefaced leicester roving

Beautiful blues that hint at purple in soft, smooshy BFL. This would make a beautiful semi-solid yarn.

MoonWood Farm

Wisteria – milk protein fiber, mill end wools, rambouillet, bamboo, firestar

Don’t let the idea of mill ends confuse you into thinking this batt is anything other than amazing. It is so soft and such a dream to spin.

Natchwoolie

Wisteria – merino and bamboo

A beautiful white merino roving paired with bamboo of the palest of pink. Two different kinds of softness that would be fun to combine in a number of ways.

Silver Sun Alpacas

Lavender Vanilla – contains alpaca, merino & silk

This sample looks to be a strip pulled off a full sized batt. It has different shades of lavender, lightly blended with vanilla (white).

Wild Hare Fiber Studio

Wisteria – Smoothie Specialty Batt (pulled into roving) – contains merino wool, silk and angelina

This batt (roving) is so soft I wish I could sleep in it. It has several different shades of purple with a bit of sparkle and sheen all blended together.

Woolie Bullie

Wisteria – merino

pillowy soft merino in the palest shade of pink.

My Wisteria Spindies box has been so much fun even before I began to spin it up! Feeling and looking at the amazing contributions of the fiber artists has been a delight. I must confess I was hesitant to start, since I’d been enjoying how the bowl of samples looked on my coffee table. But once I decided to spin it, I chose to go with what I know I will love, 3 thin singles, plyed into a fingering weight yarn. I wish I had a blending hackle, but since I don’t, I found another way to blend all the samples nicely. I stretched each sample out to a big rectangle (approx 15″ x 20″) – very easy with the batts. Not so much with the rovings – those I broke into 20″ strips and teased apart.

I stacked each stretched sample on top of eachother.

Then I ripped the sample sandwich into eight strips. To keep things tidy, I twisted each strip into a little knot until I was ready to deal with it. Once I was ready to spin, I predrafted each knot and spun to my heart’s content!

I lost a little bit of my singles due to some difficult, then impossible, tangles.

Here’s the finished yarn. 5oz, 420 yards, fingering weight yarn. Maybe, I’ll put it back on the coffee table to admire!

Responses

  1. Wow…what a fantastic way to blend fibers without tools. The final yarn looks fantastic!


Leave a Reply

Categories

